Day # 18: THE BOOKS I LOVE

Have you ever thought, what a book is for you? Is it an escape from reality? A teacher? An inspiration? Or maybe a decoration? Whatever it is to you, it is something. For me, books are everything! And there are a few books that I love…

I always had a queue of books I was going to read. Despite the fact, that I was reading those books, the queue have never got shorter. Probably I will always have it. But there are books that I have read more than once. They are so exceptional and so rich that I just need to read them again.

Here is the list of books that I love:

  1. Silva Rerum by Kristina Sabaliauskaitė
  2. Master and Margarita by Michail Bulgakov
  3. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  4. Faust by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
  5. The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
  6. God Always Travels Incognito by Laurent Gounelle

My number one book is Silva Rerum written by Kristina Sabaliauskaitė. This book has an interesting story but the most important part is how it is written. The action is happening in XVII – XVIII century, that means Baroque Lithuania, so the style of writing is also baroque. Strong, bright, eloquent expressions, vivid and sometimes even too realistic stories. Besides, action not only takes place in my home country but in my hometown! I love those books!

There are four parts of Silva Rerum. When the second book was released, I read the first book once again. When the third book was released, I read the first one and the second one once again. Now I am reading the fourth one and I enjoy every word of it. There is a feeling like I also am a part of the story, just standing silently in the corner and watching everything.

As Barbara Lekarczyk-Cisek said “…I must confess I have not read such alluring prose in a long time, it is impossible to tear oneself off this book. […] This is a talent on a par with Jan Potocki, though ‘Silva Rerum’ is much more contemporary than the ‘Manuscript found in Saragossa’. It is for a reason she is compared to Marquez – due to the sensuality and magical atmosphere, and to Umberto Eco – due to erudition and the play with conventions. However, besides these comparisons, Kristina Sabaliauskaitė is a truly original phenomenon, a one-of-a-kind”.

The second best book for me is Master and Margarita because this book is so deep and you can not stop thinking about it even when you are not reading it. My godmother says, that this book has some magic in it. Actually, every time when I was reading it, something pretty strange and unexpected happens.  Maybe it is the power of Margarita… Anyway, this book is translated into many languages so if you have not read it yet, this must be your number one on To-Read list!

All the other books are also amazing (that is why they are on my favourite books list). Crime and Punishment is the longest and the most difficult book on this list but it is also one of the best life-teachers. Faust is another one magical piece of art that I love. It is a story about the decisions we make and truly important things in our lives. The Little Prince and God Always Travels Incognito are the easy readings that inspire and motivate you, teach about relationships and their importance and the power of will.

Those books are the ones that I love. They never get old and always gives you what you need most, whether it is just an escape from reality or a motivation to change your life to the best.

Leave a Reply

